The article has been automatically translated into English by Google Translate from Russian and has not been edited.
Переклад цього матеріалу українською мовою з російської було автоматично здійснено сервісом Google Translate, без подальшого редагування тексту.
Bu məqalə Google Translate servisi vasitəsi ilə avtomatik olaraq rus dilindən azərbaycan dilinə tərcümə olunmuşdur. Bundan sonra mətn redaktə edilməmişdir.

Travel and pandemic: which US states require 14-day self-isolation after entry

States are gradually starting to open, but this does not mean that everyone is free to come and go as they please. Which states still require 14-day self-isolation? USA Today.

Photo: Shutterstock

The publication has collected updated information on states requiring or recommending that visitors and residents returning from other states be quarantined. Recently, at least one state has updated its rules, requiring a negative coronavirus test instead of self-isolation.

Some counties or municipalities have given similar advice to travelers, so if you plan to go on a trip or take a summer vacation, it is worth checking the mandatory quarantine policy on the state websites and doing this for all the places where you are going to stay.


As of May 30, people entering the state from areas with significant spread of the virus or an incidence higher than Idaho must self-isolate for 14 days. The state now allows "non-essential" travel.


The Governor and the State Department of Health and Human Services have lifted the mandatory 14-day quarantine. Both American and foreign travelers can come to Alaska if they meet the following requirements:

  • if they are tested within 72 hours - 5 days before they leave their destination, they may arrive in Alaska with confirmation of a negative test for coronavirus PCR (antigen). They cannot enter if the test is positive;
  • if they had a negative PCR test earlier than 5 days before departure, they can take a second test upon arrival in Alaska. Before the results of the second test, contacts should be minimized;
  • if travelers decide to take the test upon arrival, they should register on the test site and be quarantined until the results are received. If the result is positive, the traveler is also quarantined;
  • if the traveler is a critical infrastructure worker, he must follow his company’s staffing guidelines;
  • if none of the above is relevant, quarantine is required for 14 days.

Travelers who already had COVID-19 three or more weeks before their arrival, but now they have no symptoms and can show a doctor’s certificate confirming their recovery, do not need to repeat the test.


The Department of Health Directive requires 14-day quarantine for travelers from New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, New Orleans, and all international destinations.


On May 15, Governor Phil Scott extended the state of emergency until June 15. Visitors to the state must be self-insulated within 14 days of arrival.


The State Department of Health recommends a 14-day quarantine for those traveling abroad, on a cruise ship or riverboat, or traveling to areas of the United States where coronavirus is still widespread.

On the subject: WHO: quarantine weakening could lead to a second wave of coronavirus outbreak


The Department of Health says some cities and states may require travelers to isolate themselves for 14 days.


Governor David Age’s emergency statement obliges all visitors and residents arriving at state airports to be quarantined for 14 days. The additional statement requires all residents and visitors traveling between any islands to do the same (although the ban will be lifted for travelers between the islands on June 16).

Anyone traveling around the island will be thermally screened at the airport and fill out medical questionnaires to assist the state in tracking COVID-19 cases.


This state requires a 14-day quarantine for Kansas residents returning from these states starting May 12:

  • New York (March 15 or later);
  • Illinois, New Jersey (March 23 or later);
  • Connecticut (April 6th or later);
  • Massachusetts, Rhode Island (April 30 or later);
  • Maryland (May 12 or later).

Kansas encourages (although it does not oblige) those who travel to Lake Ozark in Missouri on Memorial Day weekend to quarantine for 14 days if they have not taken precautions such as social distance or face masks.


The state encourages anyone arriving by any means of transport to comply with quarantine for 14 days.


All travelers are asked to self-isolate for 14 days. People are strongly discouraged from entering the state if they have symptoms of coronavirus. Health, Public Safety, Transportation, and Major Business Representatives - Quarantine Exception.


An executive order requires that newcomers to the state be self-insulated for 14 days, regardless of their residence status.


State residents traveling from international locations must be self-insulated for 14 days, or for the duration of their visit, if it is shorter than two weeks. The recommendation excludes healthcare workers, transit passengers and some other groups.

New Mexico

Travelers who fly to New Mexico airports must self-insulate for 14 days (or less if their stay is shorter) in accordance with a June 1 government order. Separate groups are excluded: military personnel, airline employees, medical workers.

On the subject: A visa has ended during quarantine: how can tourists extend their stay in the USA


Governor Kevin Stitt did not cancel his order requiring people arriving on flights from three states (New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut), Washington, California, or Louisiana, to be quarantined for 14 days. Airline personnel, military personnel, healthcare workers and emergency responders are exempt from the rule.

Rhode Island

Governor Gina M. Raimondo canceled the general self-isolation order in the state from May 9. For those who enter the state for non-work purposes, a 14-day self-isolation is required. The restriction will not apply to those traveling for the purpose of treatment, as well as to health workers.


Anyone traveling from New York, New Jersey, Connecticut or Louisiana must self-isolate for 14 days, or fewer days if their stay is shorter, as ordered by Governor Ron DeSantis. The procedure does not apply to airline employees or people "performing military, emergency or medical activities."

Южная Каролина

The state recommends that travelers returning from a high-prevalence area stay at home for 14 days from the date of departure.


Governor Gary Herbert said that most of the state has moved to the yellow level (low risk), but it is recommended to limit travel outside the state, and 14-day quarantine is required after returning from high-risk areas.

In the U.S. quarantine coronavirus Special Projects COVID-19

Read also on ForumDaily:

Lavatory City: New Yorkers cram the streets because of closed public toilets

Cinemas will open soon in California: but with major changes to the rules for visiting

14 US states record new COVID-19 incidence rate

We do not treat it: COVID-19 may not be a respiratory disease, and there are already medicines for it

Do you want more important and interesting news about life in the USA and immigration to America? Subscribe to our page in Facebook. Choose the "Display Priority" option and read us first. And don't forget to subscribe to ForumDaily Woman and ForumDaily New York - there you will find a lot of interesting and positive information. 

1057 requests in 2,610 seconds.