Clock change: when will the US switch to daylight saving time - ForumDaily
The article has been automatically translated into English by Google Translate from Russian and has not been edited.
Переклад цього матеріалу українською мовою з російської було автоматично здійснено сервісом Google Translate, без подальшого редагування тексту.
Bu məqalə Google Translate servisi vasitəsi ilə avtomatik olaraq rus dilindən azərbaycan dilinə tərcümə olunmuşdur. Bundan sonra mətn redaktə edilməmişdir.

Clock change: When will the US switch to daylight saving time?

On Sunday, November 5, at 2 a.m. local time, you will need to set your clocks back an hour. Americans will get an extra hour of sleep. The time change happens twice a year and affects most, but not all Americans, reports USAToday.

Photo: IStock

Daylight Saving Time will begin again in March 2024, when we will move our clocks forward and lose an extra hour of sleep.

In November we adjust the clocks to provide more daylight in the mornings. As we "move forward" into March, we want to add more daylight into the summer evenings. In the Northern Hemisphere, the autumn equinox fell on September 23, marking the beginning of the fall season.

Here's what you need to know about daylight saving time.

On the subject: What Columbus was guilty of: why the holiday in honor of the discoverer of America was replaced with Indigenous Peoples' Day

When does Daylight Saving Time start in 2024?

In 2024, DST will begin at 2 a.m. on Sunday, March 10, and end at 2 a.m. on Sunday, November 3.

In 1966, Congress passed the Uniform Time Act, standardizing the length of daylight saving time, which runs from March to November.

Daylight saving time begins on the second Sunday in March each year and ends on the first Sunday in November.

The Department of Transportation (DOT) said daylight saving time saves energy, prevents traffic accidents and reduces crime. The DOT controls time zones and uniform enforcement of daylight saving time.

Do all states observe daylight saving time?

No, not all US states and territories adopt daylight saving time.

Like the article? Support ForumDaily!?

Hawaii and Arizona (excluding the Navajo Nation) do not observe daylight saving time, as do the territories of American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands.

Will the US end daylight saving time?

In 2022, the US Senate unanimously approved the Sunshine Protection Act, a bill that would make daylight saving time permanent starting in 2023. The measure failed to pass the U.S. House of Representatives and was not signed by President Joe Biden.

Read also on ForumDaily:

A Missouri resident swam 60 km on a pumpkin boat: this is a world record

How to become a millionaire: 11 tips from experts

Who or whom: a simple trick will help you determine when to use which word

Miscellanea Educational program translate of time
Subscribe to ForumDaily on Google News

Do you want more important and interesting news about life in the USA and immigration to America? — support us donate! Also subscribe to our page Facebook. Select the “Priority in display” option and read us first. Also, don't forget to subscribe to our РєР ° РЅР ° Р »РІ Telegram  and Instagram- there is a lot of interesting things there. And join thousands of readers ForumDaily New York — there you will find a lot of interesting and positive information about life in the metropolis. 

1066 requests in 1,270 seconds.